The Arizona Growler

January 21, 2007

SECURITY ALERT: Virus being sent to email.arizona.edu addresses?

Posted by Garrett P. O'Hara
Filed under: science/technology, crime, announcements

I just received an email supposedly from egreetings.com which contains a link to "postcard.exe", which I scanned with AVG.  The file according to AVG is "IRC/Backdoor.flood".  It was sent to my email.arizona.edu account, so I suspect I’m not the only UA student to receive it.

This is the source code for what I received.  Moreover, you can also read the warning from one of the online businesses with which the email claims to be affiliated.

The basic gist is that if you receive an email claiming to be sending you a postcard from "a family member", don’t click it. 

If you see the same thing and you’re UA affiliated, be sure to notify CCIT.

Update: Looks like BYU got it, too.




1 Comment »

Comments may not show immediately due to administrative moderation.

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: http://arizonagrowler.blogsome.com/2007/01/21/security-alert-virus-being-sent-to-emailarizonaedu-addresses/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

  1. I guess I don’t have to worry. Not being connected with a University. Also not having any friends helps.

    Comment by Norm — January 21, 2007 @ 3:05 pm

Please drop us a comment!

Line and paragraph breaks automatic, e-mail address never displayed, HTML allowed: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <code> <em> <i> <strike> <strong>



Anti-spam measure: please retype the above text into the box provided.

Get free blog up and running in minutes with Blogsome
Theme designed by Jay of onefinejay.com
(Theme modified for our purposes.)